HWBOT Community Forums

Another bloody subzero-prep guide

zeropluszero

I had a request here from Junkdogg, a newbie to subzero overclocking who requested I show how I prep a motherboard for subzero overclocking.

First, I'm by no means an expert, I started out with the same advice given to me by the friendly guys here at OCAU and have evolved from there.

JJJC's excellent subzero guide here is the basis for my prep as you can see, but you'll see the slight differences I've made as you progress through.

aRuL0PW.jpg

First off you'll notice I've covered my motherboard in liquid electrical tape spray (Performix Plastidip, bought from eBay). This is used as opposed to vaseline coating which JJJC has used in his guide. I started out using the exact same technique that JJJC uses, using $2 paintbrushes and a hairdryer to melt the vaseline a little. The coating of vaseline doesnt have to be too thick, just enough to waterproof the board. I'd like to stress that I am only trying the LET spray out, whereas vaseline, while messy is quick, cheap and works great.

For CPU only cooling, I would coat the entire top half of the board down to the second or third expansion slot. If I am cooling a Graphics card as well, I will probably take the waterproofing down most of the board. I will remove all heatsinks, and coat the mosfets and around the PCH chipset, then generally put them straight on over the top.

SjbcVgE.jpg

Next, I take toilet paper or paper towel, trimmed with scissors and force this between my ram slots, and into the unused ram slots with a butter knife.

If using toilet paper, cut a single sheet into thirds, then fold each of these thirds in half twice, then force it into the slots.

This is to fill the slots and prevent water condensation from shorting parts of your motherboard. With a pair of fine tweezers this is completely removable.

nvvx2Jq.jpg