HWBOT Community Forums

Complete noob :) looking for basics advices !

Hello everyone, i am very new to OC .. but i'd like to get familliar with it !

I had my first overclocking experience recently @ Lan ETS with the HWbot crew.

I would like to build a small rig to get familliar with it, i have a test bench i can use to build it , and a CX600M power supply. (friend almost gave it to me) i was wondering what kind of motherboard and CPU should i start with (remember i have nearly no experience)

i do travel all the time so my computer at home is a laptop, it's really my first time building something :D

i was thinking in buying (used) something like i3-5 or even i7(but i think its a lil expensive to start with).

i also have no experience in bios mods.

Another question i had was is the ram ammount ihave on the motherboard is really important ? if so how much should i get 8gb ? 16gb ? also should i get a gpu or should i use the integrated gpu ?

thanks for your time and help :D !!

• Administrators

Depending on system you use, i3 should be ok, on 1151 lots of mainboard have option to unlock OC on this, these are nice chips then. For the start 2x4gb should do the job., your power supply is also OK. On the brand and model of the mainboard, I guess there are people more versatile than me, I use Asus ROG boards atm, but these are not cheap. IGP for the start is ok, you can buy a small used vga as well if you want, but graphics card is easy to upgrade normally when you want one or bigger model later. Modding BIOS is normally not needed :D - but you will have to learn how the settings there work, and you will succeed in this, there are also helpful guides

Edited by websmile

Hello everyone, i am very new to OC .. but i'd like to get familliar with it !

I had my first overclocking experience recently @ Lan ETS with the HWbot crew.