HWBOT Community Forums

Is overclocking DEAD or dying?

9o6uh43ey12wo5q7g.jpg

The real numbers for 2019?

A different approach perhaps? You experienced guys & gals gather a keen learner under your wing learn them up & make them fly. :D

_________

A success story for inspiration.

Young Jordan as Karta's padawan evolved as apprentice revealed the master. 

https://hwbot.org/user/jordan_hyde99/

Write back here your determination gathering another overclocker into the fold.

It's not dead at all!

I have had multiple success stories. I was a noob bencher having done DICE a few times when a few guys from OCN, pulled me aside and asked if I wanted to be part the Skype benching community. With a lot of encouragement and also some very helpful info I started to bench almost every weekend. I learned how hwbot works and started gaining points. After a few years I had made it to #1 in apprentice by running tons of dry ice and learning how to mod GPU's. Once I made it to #1 in apprentice I became stagnate and had difficulties gaining points with dry ice. Due to financial reasons, LN2 was not an option.

@Splave took notice of what I was doing with DICE and GPU modding  by my posts on Facebook. He generously offered to help me out by sending me a box with 30+ old GPU's that he didn't want. Furthermore, he offered to help me make the transition to LN2 and gave me a 50L dewar for the price of shipping. Splave's help didn't stop there, he continued to support my endeavors and teach me the world of LN2 benching. Eventually I ended up getting supported by ASRock for platform hardware. I devoted a few solid years to LN2 benching and pushing myself and the hardware as far as it would go. Splave continues to help and support me to this day...