HWBOT Community Forums

Is this degradation? PSC/haswell/air

So I'm very new to memory OC, and I've been trying to get some PSC to work for me. I've made 100+ 32m runs with this pair of sticks over a couple of weeks on air, testing the effect of each timing I tweak and OS tweaks. I have tried up to 2.05v once to see how high vDIMM they will take, but all the rest has been 1.92 or a little lower, min for stability. 

Vcore 1.31 / 50x

Vcache 1.42 / 50x

Vin 1.72

VSA .05

VIOA +.16

VIOD -.08

I have 10 sticks of PSC, the lowest volts for the binning profile was 1.83 for 2 of a triple kit of 2000c9 ripjaws, those are what I'm using. (My one living stick of patriot 2400c9 took 1.89v)

I started from my "binning" profile "2666 9-13-9 ultra loose", and have been tightening from there, I got to 8-12-8-28-1-88-11750 tWCL 6, tRRD 4, and then the stability problems started...

Been pulling my hair out trying to find out why they won't do what should be simple secondary timings like tWR <16, tRTP <6 etc, and now I'm getting out of round with just the basic 2666 9-13-9 ultra loose profile with a fresh OS. Have a killed them?

I would suggest dropping cache and core to 4GHz when testing ram. I'm not sure that 5GHz cache on ambient is particulary stable tbh.

Also, typically PSC responds to IOA and SA being low and IOD being higher. VCCIN also seems quite low, I normally run 1.8-1.85V when testing ram - as it influences stability.

In addition, make sure to manually set the RTLs/IOLs as otherwise they might vary and throw your results all over the place on efficiency/stability.

Edited by Noxinite
  • Like 1

3 hours ago, Leeghoofd said:

Incorrect training? Cleaned the gold contacts and dimm slots? 

22 minutes ago, Noxinite said:

I would suggest dropping cache and core to 4GHz when testing ram. I'm not sure that 5GHz cache on ambient is particulary stable tbh.