HWBOT Community Forums

Is it normal for the Package Temp to go straight to 100C and Thermal Throttle when Benchmarking XTU 2.0?

SMyers

Total newb to OC, just looking into it today for the first time.

I'm running some tests using XTU 2.0 on a new Asus Prime Z690-P MB / i7-13700K with 64GB (2x32GB) Kingston Fury Beast 5600MT/s DDR5 Ram
The system came with a Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite 240 installed.

I'm not yet doing any sort of Overclocking yet, just running it in Factory Auto/Defaults mode to get some baseline numbers.

My Question:
Is it normal when I run XTU 2.0 Benchmark for the Package Temperature to go to 100C and Thermal Throttle after a few seconds?
It drops back down to 36C after the test is run, but I'm a bit concerned that this Water Cooler is not that great.

Edited by SMyers
typo

• Crew

Can you take some screenshots or make a video of it sir, ensure that some CPUZ tabs or Hwinfo64 is monitoring the temps and CPU voltage. Also not a bad idea to open the case panel to get more air in

Try a remount of the cooler ( if you got some spare thermal paste left ) maybe the builder left the foil between the cooler and the CPU? 
re the radiator fans adjusting their RPM during load?

Could also be that your specific motherboard overvolts big time or if you are really unlucky you got a very bad silicon CPU

So I take it it's not "normal" for it to go into Thermal Throttling when it runs the test.

'm ordering some PK-3 Thermal paste to see if that helps.
I've attached a screenshot of HWiNfo64 before and after running the XTU Benchmark Utility.

I'm considering buying a better Cooler for this system, but it seems 99% of them are covered with LED's and I'd prefer something without all the lights.
I'm not conserned about the price, I just don't care for flashing lights on/in my PC's.

I've read a few good things about the CORSAIR iCUE H150i RGB PRO XT, 360mm (my case has space for it) and I believe it can be installed without hooking up the RGB LED's.