HWBOT Community Forums

Can't find rookie AMD competitions?

Hi,

I'm new to hwbot.

Just set up my 2nd ever Dry Ice setup (pot mounted & primed) and system powered on at -50.

I have an AMD FX-8350.

I head over to hwbot, select 'competitions' and looked through all the rookie rumbles.

The only competition I can find (currently ongoing) on the "rookie rumbles" is one involving XTC (a benchmark that only runs on intel platforms).

Are there no competitions I can participate in just now?

I've spent all this time/money setting everything up; now I'm not sure what to do next....?

Anyone able to show me the ropes please or, steer me in the right direction, about where to start?

Last month (on my 1st ever session) I broke the record for the fastest CPU frequency ever recorded using my old motherboard model (fastest with an ASrock 990FX Killer). <--- that gave me a motivation and a goal.

Links:

ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer @ HWBOT (top link)

(I've now upgraded to the ASrock 990FX Extreme 9 (12+2) phase. A proper O/C'ers board).

Where do I go now?

Thanks guys.

Nick Peyton

Edited by Nick_Peyton

In a while there will be another round of "challenger divisions". At least one of the divisions will be AMD only. There is also Rookie ryzen rumble which is ongoing now, but you would probably need a ryzen CPU :) However I don't think extreme cooling is allowed for rookie competitions.

The thing is not many bench AMD these days. Maybe ryzen will change that, but until then I think you will find more joy just using the database to find hw-categories and benchmarks you can do. Search for your CPU and/or GPU and select some approriate targets to try and beat.

In a while there will be another round of "challenger divisions". At least one of the divisions will be AMD only. There is also Rookie ryzen rumble which is ongoing now, but you would probably need a ryzen CPU :) However I don't think extreme cooling is allowed for rookie competitions.