HWBOT Community Forums

Z97 DDR3 recommendations?

I've been looking to get a kit of ram for benching only, but was curious what I should look for.

Should I be looking for psc, Samsung, hynix or what? Do the different IC's perform differently at the same timings?

I'm leaning towards psc because I see a lot of people on here with really tight timings on psc, but figured I'd ask first.

If I do get psc, should I just get some off eBay to save money and hope it clocks well? Do they have a really good rep for always clocking well, or is it really difficult to find a good kit?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm new to the whole ram OC'ing game.

Edited by Lays

• Administrators

Ebay will make you suffer, other than people think and results you see at hwbot and forums, tons of psc are unable to do 2600C8 tight stable at any voltage, and lots of Samsungs fail 2800 C9 as well - if you plan to use cold psc are by far best option for most benches, air use Samsung is good choice like Pieter said. Skip Hynix completely, benchperformance is bad.

There is no "same performace at same timings" - good psc can take tighter subtimings than samsungs for example, and best possible maintimings are different as well at same frequency

Ebay will make you suffer, other than people think and results you see at hwbot and forums, tons of psc are unable to do 2600C8 tight stable at any voltage, and lots of Samsungs fail 2800 C9 as well - if you plan to use cold psc are by far best option for most benches, air use Samsung is good choice like Pieter said. Skip Hynix completely, benchperformance is bad.

There is no "same performace at same timings" - good psc can take tighter subtimings than samsungs for example, and best possible maintimings are different as well at same frequency

I have a set of Samsung trident x that did 2800 c9 on a friend's 4790k and asrock oc formula, but I can't seem to get them to do further than 2666 c9 on my 4770k and oc force.