HWBOT Community Forums

Single stage build. Old parts used (2023)

ogblaz

Hello all,

Wanted to build this for 10 years. Now the time has come and I made my first single stage. It is my first build but the compressor will be replaced with a rotary one from an old AC unit.
I bought a used ( compressor NJ 6220Z, condenser ) and got evaporator from a friend who made single stages and cascades almost 20 years ago.
It is charged with r404a gas (380Gr) the capillary tube is around 0.7mm (outside diameter 1.9mm), length is around 2-2.5M .
It is working OK in idle around -46°C but on long loads goes up fast. I really don`t know how to tune it.
Suction pressure is -0.2 bar, discharge is 9 bar.
I only bench 775 socket ...
The total cost is less than 100€ .

Here are some pictures if you have some advice you can give it to me :)

Thanks, Blaz. 

3.png

4.png

Edited by ogblaz
  • Like 1

I used e2140 processor at 1.95V for load and I added 70g more gas. It holds -46°C no problem. 

But for single core celerons and pentiums it can`t hold load at 1.95V I need to lower the voltage, or use only short tests.

When I get another compressor I will try to tune it a bit more. If I get another evaporator I will make another, I don`t want to part this one out.

Thanks, Blaz

• 3 weeks later...

I didn`t get another evaporator to date, but I got another compressor. 

Its a rotary compressor r410a with markings I can`t get a datasheet (5ps102), but I found that this should be a 10.2ccm unit with 2kW cooling capacity 6800BTU. 

Its not a strong compressor.. so is there any gain from my r134 embraco nj6220z , 1 HP, displacement 26.11 cm3 ?

I also shorted the cap tube for 25cm but it didn`t change much. I have at my disposal a 0.8mm captube that I think to use. Bigger captubes are only sold as 30M bundles...

Thank you for your help, Blaz

On 2/19/2023 at 9:04 AM, ogblaz said:

I used e2140 processor at 1.95V for load and I added 70g more gas. It holds -46°C no problem.