HWBOT Community Forums

ZenStates - beta testers needed

I.nfraR.ed

Hello everyone!

Long story short, someone developed an app called AsusZenStates, originally meant to give the user control over P-States on first gen Zen CPUs, with some additional options.

It was ASUS motherboards only. However, he doesn't support it anymore and made it open-source. I've made an own fork and now trying to support it for all Ryzen generations and for all motherboard vendors. Since Zen2 launch things have changed significantly in the way some things are controlled through the SMU and MSRs. The lack of meaningful public documentation from AMD side makes it really difficult, especially for a person like me. I'm a front-end developer and don't have much experience with C#, let alone bios development for desktop, although I've had some personal projects for android kernels and co. So I'm trying to do my best, but all I've done so far is mostly reverse-engineered.

I still haven't figured out how to control PBO limits (perhaps scalar doesn't work with all motherboards either), so some of the controls are currently disabled.

"SMU Power Limits" is also blocked by AMD (the command to disable the feature gets blocked), so this control is disabled as well.

Additionally most of the things are SMU/AGESA version  and CPU gen dependant, so there might be some logic errors in the code regarding this.

I've quickly made a small website, which fetches currently released version. 

If someone is willing to help with the development and testing, please let me know. Download the app and test it (VID control only works if you use Auto or Offset mode for voltage, but that's to be expected). I will later write a little more info about different CPU generations and features available.